Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church – St. Peter’s Church in Kõpu

Kõpu was first mentioned in 1481 and the first wooden church was built in 1674.
The current stone church was built in 1821–1825 and the first organ was brought to the church in 1844.
Around the same time, the unique altarpiece, one of a kind in Estonia, was completed, probably by F. L. von Maydell. In 1866–1867, G. Knauff built a new organ with 8 stops. The organ is still in use.
The stone tower of the church was completed in 1906 and the classistic altar wall, brick floor, and candle holders have survived the years. The walls are decorated by the epitaphs of the landlords von Strykk and parish clerk Auster. Guests can visit the attic hall and tower.
The author of the church textiles is Reet Talimaa.


  • Finnish
  • Estonian
  • German
  • English
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Free parking
  • WC
  • Information boards
  • Site lighting
  • Exhibition
  • Souvenirs
Soomaa Turism MTÜ ühendab Soomaa turismipiirkonnas tegutsevaid ettevõtteid.

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram